• <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/29871_papers.rev.1452013163.png)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/29873_header-aerial.rev.1450206652.jpg)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/30028_english-_literature.rev.1452013046.png)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/30024_area_studies.rev.1451945934.png)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/30485_library.rev.1454952369.png)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/30027_self_designed_major.rev.1451946126.png)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/30025_education.rev.1451945980.png)"/>

Writing Center

First-Year Writing Contest

The winning author earns academic distinction recognized at Matriculation in the Fall. The winning essay is published in Lake Forest Papers, and the winner receives a prize.

The contest is open to all Lake Forest first-year students. Submissions must be papers written for classes at the College.

First-Year Writing Prize 2017

Rebecca Rabizadeh ’20

Sex, Drugs, and Rock Hard Mattresses” (PDF). A paper written for Lecturer in Politics Stephanie Caparelli. 

First Year Writing Prize 2016

Kristin Rawlings ’19

Logotherapy and the Logical Trilemma” (PDF). A paper written for Associate Professor of English Carla Arnell. 

First-Year Writing Prize 2015

Michael Janeček ’18

Primordia Coenobii Gandeshemensis:  Hrotsvit of Gandersheim as a Political Actor and Secular and Religious Power in Ottonian Saxony” (PDFA paper written for Associate Professor of History Anna Trumbore Jones.

First-Year Writing Prize 2014

Allegra Wozniak ’17

Setting as Character in Dickens and Dostoevsky.” (PDFA paper written for Associate Professor of English Carla Arnell.

First-Year Writing Prize 2013

Katie Bridget Wright ’16

Bread, Freedom, and Social Justice: Understanding the Egyptian Revolution.” (PDFA paper written for Associate Professor of Politics Siobhan Moroney.

First-Year Writing Prize 2012

Nikolai Leffner ’15

The Grapes of Dionysus’s Wrath:  An Analysis of the Principal Characters and Themes in Euripides’s Tragedy, The Bacchae.” (PDFA paper written for Associate Professor Rui Zhu’s First Year Studies Course, Civilization and Barbarism.

First-Year Writing Prize 2012 (Honorable Mention)

 Elizabeth Bulley ’15

 “When Shakespeare’s “Women” Wear the Pants: An Examination of Rosalind and the Trouser Role in As You Like It“ (PDF)  A paper written for Professor Ann Roberts’ First Year Studies Course, Renaissance Women.

First-Year Writing Prize 2011

Candice Kosanke ’14

“Useless Objects”: Kipple and What It Represents.” (PDFA paper written for Assistant Professor Josh Corey’s First-Year Studies course, Frankenstein: Myth of the Monstrous.

First-Year Writing Prize 2010

Maya Beckles ’13

The Winter’s Tale: The Relief of Tragicomedy through Leontes and Autolycus.” (PDF) A paper written for Associate Professor Richard Pettengill’s Shakespeare and Theater course.

First-Year Writing Prize 2010

Emily Thomas ’13

Oda: An Extraordinary Example of a Medieval Woman’s Religious Authority and Economic Power.” (PDF) A paper written for Associate Professor Anna Jones’ Women in Medieval Christianity First-Year Studies course.

First-Year Writing Prize 2009

Maria Zawadowicz

Scientific Method in Medicine: Bringing Unity to Research and Clinical Decision-Making.” (PDF) A paper written in Associate Professor Lori Del Negro’s Chemistry and Medicine First-Year Studies course.

First-Year Writing Prize 2009 (Honorable Mention)

Ellen Shipitalo

Power and the Causes of Unequal Distribution in The Tempest and Twelfth Night.” (PDF) A paper written for Professor Richard Mallette’s Shakespeare course.

First-Year Writing Prize 2008

Kathryn Duncan

Isabella d’Este: Woman in Charge.” (PDF) A paper written for Professor Roberts’ Women in Art History First-Year Studies course.

First-Year Writing Prize 2007

Ashlee Norton

Analysis of Acting and Design Elements in Chicago Opera Theater Performance of Monteverdi’s Il Ritorno d’Ulisse in Patria.” (PDF) A paper written for Associate Professor of Politics Siobhan Moroney’s Ways of Knowing course.

First-Year Writing Prize 2006

Melissa Schramm

Sibling Aggression and Siblicidal Tendencies in Birds. ” (PDF) A paper written for Professor Caleb Gordon’s Biology of Birds course. 

First-Year Writing Prize 2006

Kalani Man

Questioning Truth from within the Austro-Hungarian Empire: A Functional Analysis of the Ideas of Mach and Freud. ” (PDF) A paper written for Professor Edward Jurkowitz’s Western Thought Since the Renaissance course.

First-Year Writing Prize 2005

Sara Woodbury

Christ Carrying the Cross: A Power Statement for the Institution.”  (PDF) A paper written for Professor Ann Roberts Introduction to Visual Arts course.

First-Year Writing Prize 2004

Chris Shirley

Minimalism, Pop, and the True Avant-Garde.”  (PDF) A paper written for Professor David Schneiderman and Professor Christopher Reed’s American Avant-Garde course. 

First-Year Writing Prize 2003

Kaloian Petkov

Hazard: The Scientist’s Analysis of the Game.” (PDF) A paper written  for Professor Edward Packel’s Mathematics of Gaming and Gambling course. 

First-Year Writing Prize 2002

Maren Pedersen

Provoking Judgment.” (PDF) A paper written for Associate Professor of Politics Siobhan Moroney’s Freshman Studies course.

First-Year Writing Prize 2001

Erin Lynch

Daddy’s Girl: Sylvia Plath, Freud, and the Uncanny. ” (PDF) A paper written for Professor Tom Balazs’ Literature and Psychoanalysis course. 

First-Year Writing Prize 2000

Trina Bannick

A Comparison of the Heroes of Jane Eyre and Oliver Twist. ” (PDF) A paper written for Professor Jacqueline Perret’s Nonfiction Writing course.

First-Year Writing Prize 1999

Jenna Hammerich

Social Contact versus Isolation in ‘Song of Myself’ and ‘A Noiseless Patient Spider’.” (PDF) A paper written for Professor Janet McCracken’s Aesthetics course.