• <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/30024_area_studies.rev.1451945934.png)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/30028_english-_literature.rev.1452013046.png)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/30027_self_designed_major.rev.1451946126.png)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/29871_papers.rev.1452013163.png)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/30025_education.rev.1451945980.png)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/29873_header-aerial.rev.1450206652.jpg)"/>
  • <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/6/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/30485_library.rev.1454952369.png)"/>

Writing Center

All-College Writing Contest

The All-College Writing Contest was created to encourage interest and excellence in scholarly writing by all undergraduate students enrolled at the College. The contest is sponsored by the Writing Center and juried by faculty members from a variety of disciplines.

Students whose papers win honors in the All-College Writing Contest earn academic distinction recognized at the appropriate Honors Convocation. Winning essays are published in Lake Forest’s online publication, Lake Forest Papers, and the winner receives a cash prize.

This contest is open to all undergraduates currently enrolled at Lake Forest College. Submissions must be papers written for classes at the College.
Winners 2016-17

Rachel E. Jones ’17

Music as an Illustration of Emotional Structure in Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing


Winners 2015-16

Margo La Clair 

The Narrative Similarities Between Under Fire and All Quiet on the Western Front

Kristin A. Rawlings

Logotherapy and the Logical Trilemma

Winners 2014-15

Sanni M. Lindroos ’17

Elsinore’s a Stage, Too: Analyzing Shakespeare’s Hamlet through Erving Goffman’s Sociological Theories. (PDF) A paper written for Professor Richard Pettengill’s History of Drama: Greeks to Shakespeare course.

Samantha L. Miller ’17

China’s One Child Policy: Examining the Origins and Outcomes Ignored by the Media. (PDF) A paper written for Professor Siobhan Moroney’s Family Structure and Political Theory course.

Winner 2013-14

Elizabeth Hyzy ’14

The Fantastic in Jonathan Safran Foer’s Everything Is Illuminated to Solve Holocaust Dilemmas. (PDF) A paper written for Professor Benjamin Goluboff’s Jewish American Literature course.

Winner 2012-13

 Alexandra Waszak ’14

The Contributions of Rape Humor to a Rape-Prone Society. (PDF) A paper written for Professor Tracy McCabe’s Introduction to Women’s and Gender Studies course.

Winner 2011-12

 Amanda Muledy

“To One Thing Constant Never”: The Male Characters of Much Ado About Nothing. (PDF) A paper written for Professor Richard Mallette’s in Shakespeare course.

Winner 2010-11

Karen Larson ’11

Serious Humor in Sei Sh┼Źnagon’s Pillow Book. (PDF) A paper written for Associate Professor Rui Zhu’s Topics of Japanese Thought course.

Winner 2009-10

 Maria Zawadowicz

 Extending Kitcher’s Account of Reduction to Other Special Sciences: A Consideration of Organic Chemistry and Quantum Mechanics. (PDF) A paper written for Assistant Professor Chad McCracken’s Philosophy of Science course.

Honorable Mention 2009-10

 Antti Aki Eemeli Isoaho

Natives of Peru and Bolivia: A Comparison of the Political Mobilization of Indigenous Groups. (PDF) A paper written for Professor Rand Smith’s Politics of Latin America course. 

Winner 2008-09

Elliot Luke 

Dual Contexts, Dual Forms: A World That Stands As One. (PDF) A paper written for Assistant Professor Rachel Whidden’s Rhetorical Criticism course.

Honorable Mention 2008-09

Danielle Marler ’09

Kingship in Shakespeare’s Second Tetralogy: The Amalgamation of Divine Right and Might. (PDF) A paper written for Assistant Professor Chad McCracken’s Topics in Political Theory course.

Winner 2007-08

Sara Woodbury

Unity through Francis: Demonstrations of Franciscan Authority in the Animal Stories of the Saint Francis Altarpiece. (PDF) A paper written for Professor Ann Roberts’ senior seminar in art history.

Honorable Mention 2007-08

Cheryl-Lynn May

These Transparent Natures are often Deceptive in their Depth:’ Early American Portrait Miniatures & Women Artists. (PDF) A paper written for Professor Ann Roberts’ senior seminar in art history.

Winner 2006-07

Chris Shirley

The Ever-Fixed Mark: Ordering Same Sex Passion in Shakespeare’s Sonnets. (PDF A paper written Professor Richard Mallette and Professor David Spadafora’s Tudor & Stuart England course.

Winners 2005-06

Chris Shirley

‘Mistah Kurtz - he dead’: Heart of Darkness and the Collapse of Imperialism (PDF) A paper written Professor Robert Archambeau’s English Literature II course.

Sara Woodbury

The Angels of the Najera Panels: Musical Representation and the Divine. (PDF) A paper written Professor Ann Roberts’ Northern Renaissance Art course.

Winners 2004-05

 Rachel Lake

Europe’s Philosophical Crisis in the Poetry of Arnold, Hardy, and Yeats. (PDF) A paper written Professor Robert Archambeau’s English Literature II course.

Chris Shirley

Thugs and Fairies: The Gay Avant-Garde of the 1960s and 1970s. (PDF) A paper written Professor Davis Schneiderman and Professor Christopher Reed’s The American Avant-Garde course.

Winner 2003-04

Rachel Lake

The Piazza Tales: Melville’s Critique of Nineteenth Century America (PDF) A paper written Professor Bernice Gallagher’s Nineteenth Century American Literature course.

Honorable Mentions 2003-04

Rachel Sorenson

Effective Teaching in High School Mathematics. (PDF) A paper written for Professor Rachel Ragland’s Secondary Teaching Methods course. 

Jenny Arnold (no PDF available)

Winner 2002-03

Jessica Delfert

Anarchic Philosophy: East and West. (PDF)  A paper written for Professor Rui Zhu’s Asian Thought course.

Winner 2001-02

David Smith

An Examination of the Congressional Debate of the Ku Klux Klan Act of 1871. (PDF) A paper written for Professor Sarah Fenton’s American Thought course. 

Winners 2000-01

Andrew Bayan

The Quest for Normalcy in the Jazz Age (PDF)

Kendra Greene

Speak Softly and Carry a Big Stick: Ideology and the Reluctant Hero in American Movies (PDF)