• <div style="background-image:url(/live/image/gid/43/width/1600/height/300/crop/1/29930_self_designed_major.rev.1450300233.png)"/>

Self-Designed Major


The Self-Designed Major program is run by an interdisciplinary committee of faculty, listed here. Students contemplating designing their own majors are encouraged to talk to any member of the committee about the procedures for application to the program, to brainstorm appropriate foci for their studies, or to recommend faculty advisors.

A student with a major of his or her own design, like all other students at the College, must have an academic advisor in the major.  The academic advisor need not be a faculty member on the Program Committee, in fact, it usually will not be, but rather, a faculty member with specific expertise in the area of the proposed major, and interest in working with the student intensively on it

  • DeJuran Richardson
    Ernest H. Volwiler Professor of Mathematics, Chair of Mathematics and Computer Science

    Areas of Study:  statistics, biostatistics

  • Janet McCracken
    Professor and Chair of Philosophy

    Areas of Study:  aesthetics, history of philosophy, gender studies, film

  • Richard Pettengill
    Associate Professor and Chair of Theater, Chair of Medieval and Renaissance Studies

    Areas of Study: dramaturgy, performance studies, renaissance drama, theater history

  • Amanda Felkey
    Associate Professor of Economics and Business, Chair of Economics, Business and Finance

    Areas of Study:  household economics, behavioral economics, development economics, quantitative methods, microeconomic theory

  • Dawn Abt-Perkins
    Director of Writing Programs, Special Assistant to the Dean of Faculty and Professor of Education, Chair of Self-Designed Major

    Areas of Study: secondary and multicultural education